Girl Gone Goa

Travel, sex, magic and cycling in an Indian state

Sadho at Sunaparanta March 16, 2009

Filed under: Magic,Travel — UR @ 9:34 am

The Sadho Poetry Film Festival at Goa’s new Arts Centre

Fontainhas, Goa (Ulrike Rodrigues)Sadho is a voluntary organization that aims at taking great “poetry to people” from all walks of life through the use of arts, media and social action. I attended a Sadho film festival at Sunaparanta – Goa Centre for the Arts in Altinho and was quite taken by how well poetry and animation go together.

Coincidentally, one of my favourite poetry films was from the National Film Board of Canada (NFB): A Tragic Story With A Happy Ending. It’s the tale of a girl whose heart is so loud that it disturbs her neighbours. She rides her bike and tries to explain to them, “My heart beats faster because it is the heart of a bird.”

I’ve been to the beach frequently, surfing in the warm rolling waves with a borrowed boogy board (half surfboard). I’ve also been awash with feelings about leaving soon. That night, I found myself falling asleep poetically, and scrawled a quick poem the next morning:

Goa 3am

The 3am air is warm and heavy like the Arabian Sea
And I float uneasily in the night’s discomfort,
Salty skin bound by an accidental sari
Of damp sheet cotton.
Hair brushes pillow, hushes mouth, tangles,
As I am tangled under and inside a net
That traps restless women,
Thirsty mosquitos,
Sheets and saris,
Sweat and sea.
A dog tells the moon that this surface drenched in darkness
Is her own.

 

2 Responses to “Sadho at Sunaparanta”

  1. Eric Hatling Says:

    Ms. Rodrigues, I just want you to know that I so enjoy your site, your writings, your musings on life in Goa and wherever. You are a breath of fresh air. You touch me deeply. Thank you.

  2. Jitendra Says:

    :-) thanks for the poem


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.